top of page

“But I Don’t Want to…”



One thing you will not hear from a successful entrepreneur is “I don’t want to.” There may be things they wish they didn’t have to do but they are well aware that in order to succeed, they must work through “I don’t want to.” Nothing in life is free and success comes to those willing to work for it. Angie modeled this concept as she created and built a neighborhood referral system for house repairs. She responded to her mentor’s invitation to ‘start a business.’ As the business grew, Angie was willing to sacrifice everything to expand to a second location. She was committed to do whatever it takes to give the customers what they wanted.

The concept of hard work can apply to motherhood. Nothing is easy when raising children especially when mothers want to give them what they need. This requires hard work and “I don’t want to” doesn’t matter. Babies cry and need extra attention. Older children who are involved with athletics and other extra-curricular activities quickly find out about hard work. Coaches encourage hard work as the ticket to winning.


Students also practice this philosophy as they grow into adults. Hard work provides different levels of success. ROTC chapters and marching bands expect students to work hard before or after school every day to practice their drills. This practice allows them to experience success at their competitions.


People who work out at the gym have varying levels of work ethic. The people who go consistently and work hard see a higher level of results than those who only come when they want to. “I don’t want to” keeps them from winning.


As a teacher, I have to overcome “I don’t want to” to keep focused on the children in my classroom. Students don’t always believe in themselves and might think that success is out of their reach. I can choose to persevere and encourage them to do their best at whatever they do or give up on them. It is my job (in my opinion) to do whatever it takes to help students find success. I have students tell me they don’t NEED my class and I remind them they don’t know what they need. I encourage them to learn all they can. My business involves producing young adults who are productive members of society. I take students on a variety of service learning projects to give to the community. This is not always easy but hard work helps me focus on the children. I hope that by demonstrating hard work as a teacher going to school, they know life isn’t easy but it pays off. Students deserve the best from their teachers.


Angie knew her customers deserved the best and that kept her from quitting. I think everyone has wondered at different times if it is really worth it. A true entrepreneur will push through those doubts. Angie’s List has grown because of the hard work she put in to the company.


I suspect doctoral students experience similar thoughts as they work through the degree. We are entrepreneurs of a different variety. We also have to keep trying and pushing ourselves through the hard stuff. Working hard, putting forth the extra effort and pushing through the “I don’t want to” will bring success. The rewards are well worth the pain.

7 views0 comments
bottom of page