top of page

Can I Keep Going? Overcoming Sustainability Issues When Changing a Daily Routine


History

I nurtured in a chaotic household. I had three brothers, one sister, and we housed many pets. My siblings and I are all, approximately, separated by one year in age. As most Americans, from the Flori-bama region, can attest, we were a handful. My family was successful, but not wealthy. What I mean is that all the children were clothed, educated, as well as fed; which is an amazing achievement when you consider only one of my parents earned a high-school diploma.

I always wanted more. Originally, I wanted the material items that many of my well-off schoolmates had. This desire perpetuated into my mid-twenties when I was doing OK for myself, but no entrepreneurial wunderkind. I remember that I looked for pathways to more sustainable wealth, but I always fell back into the trap of instant-gratification, and pseudo-wealth (spending money, not saving money). For the sake of moving this story forward, I made the hard decision to leave a toxic relationship, join the United States Military, while focusing on education and bucket list goals.

Evolution

Looking back, it is remarkable how much the above decisions affected my life. My time in the United States Army brought me, and my family, so many gifts (experience, mindfulness, and education). Of importance was a singular moment that I think of most days. Without going into to detail, I had one of “those” moments. The moments that you never think will saunter into a professional timeline. This room is where I lived for a portion of nine months in Afghanistan. I was fortunate to have such a wonderful team to share this experience with me. This room was where I decided to change my routine.

I owe so much to this room (as much as it owes to me, and the ample supply of extra timber available). I owe an undergraduate degree, a graduate degree, promotion, and the type of evolution that I am not sure I would have made of my cognition.

I am not oblivious to the fact that many had it worse than me. I was grateful. Holding that gratitude, I did the most with what I had. Many others did not have the time, and resources available, that I had. Many others did not come home. I have had my issues with that fact. I feel very strongly that those of us breathing must live for those who no longer can.

Sustainable Change

The point of the extended intro is sustainability. I needed, and equally desired, a change in my life. I chose to forgo projects, and goals that I could not sustain. I withdrew from several (paid) certification programs because I did not have the passion for them. I routinely find ways to strip away complications from my life. I organize simple routines, such as my closet, but I no longer sweat more complicated habits. I chose to repurpose my event into a sustainable process of living my passions.

Yvon Chouinard, of Patagonia, created a sustainable brand. Yvon could align his passion for change with a model that fulfilled a need. I believe, that because of Yvon’s passion, along with the public’s need for durable climbing products, that Patagonia was successful. To this day, Yvon remains focused on policing the growth of Patagonia, and remains true to Patagonia’s promise of equipment repair. I consistently find inspiration in Yvon Chouinard’s story.

I found connections to my life for projects I was engaged in. To remove clutter from my life, I created a simple finance spreadsheet (which I complete once a year and set all payments/investments/savings), I set auto deposits/investments, and I have a simple finance system that works for me. I no longer purchase material items that do not serve a purpose, or that are not sustainable (lasting). So many items are available for consumption today; one must make a conscious decision to be self-limiting. Make a conscious decision to shop only for items you need, and make sustainable choices. Focus your limited time on living, and sharing the experience with your family, in our amazing world.

To close this blog, let us recapitulate the foundation of sustainable change. Change must be wanted by the desired person/populous, to be sustainable. Change should be connected to your dreams/goals. Change should not add complication to your life, but remove toxic people and situations, as well as provide value. Do not completely constrain yourself from wants, but operate in moderation/consideration of your needs.

Reference: https://www.npr.org/player/embed/504852483/505017995

6 views0 comments
bottom of page