top of page

REINCARNATION OF A CITY by Griffith, L.

Who Am I and What My Research Agenda Is?

My name is Lisa Griffith. I earned my Master’s Degree, MPA, in Public Policy. Through earning this degree I realized that economic development is a huge problem in many cities throughout the United States. My goal is to bring vitality to cities through business opportunities meeting the needs of those who live here.

The Rust Belt includes states from Ohio, spanning east toward Pennsylvania. The map shows the exact location where mining, steel mills and manufacturing once took place.


From What Process has my agenda emerged?

My study began in Reading, Pennsylvania, and, my main focus is creating vibrant cities where there were struggles and challenges. In Reading, Pennsylvania which is part of the Rust Belt of the U.S. I found areas that were blighted and bleak. Cities were dying due to decay which had been neglected for years if not decades. Turning old buildings into newer versions of their former selves was the answer to making a downtown area vibrant, once again.

This revitalization began with a google factory. Goggles were worn in World War II to protect eyes from a variety of chemicals used during war times. The Goggle Works was born! This Goggle Works is an artists’ haven and a new space in downtown Reading. Parties, weddings and other events can be hosted in this space. Artists come from afar to make things such as blown glass, clay sculptures and wood carvings.

My plan is more localized. What started in Reading is being brought to downtown San Antonio. Old buildings abound in San Antonio. Former car dealerships, candy factories, a mom/pop grocery story are no longer what they were. The buildings are now being turned into loft space. This loft space is home to many millennials and others who chose to live downtown for work or pleasure.

To What Need Does My Agenda Respond?

My agenda responds to the need for more revitalization. What businesses can come into a downtown area and recreate what once was? How can business development increase in a city?

The need comes from people. People who need work, income and a great quality of life! Such needs will be fulfilled through economic development of a city.

Where is My Inquiry Journey Going?

Throughout my research I realized that something must be done; but what, how, why, when?

In looking at Reading I also realized that there was opportunity for economic development. As entrepreneurs I knew I wanted to make a contribution much like the goggle factory turned into the Goggle Works.

In considering downtown San Antonio as I looked around at old buildings simply crumbling into oblivion I also saw new, shiny and bright buildings with hope and promise. Many of them were being turned into loft spaces.

I knew people would populate the area, and, my plan is to open a cupcake shop soon to include a lunch café for those working in downtown San Antonio. This is a true entrepreneurial spirit!


Actions Taken During the Semester

During this semester I have spoken to entrepreneurs who are indeed risk-takers. They have been taking the necessary steps in order to accomplish business goals. They make their own opportunities by taking risks, investing in existing business, or, beginning from scratch.

I have searched articles but found little in the way of entrepreneurial endeavors bringing economic development. I believe the best and only way to achieve ones’ goals is to talk to people; possibly through Action Research Methods.

I also attended a meeting where economic development was discussed through a City Council.

I have visited Reading, Pennsylvania to see for myself what improvements have been made toward economic development in a former Rust Belt city. If we can make it there we can make it ANYWHERE!!!

19 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page